* This site is privately owned and is not affiliated or endorsed by the Social Security Administration or any other government agency.

North Dakota Medicaid

North Dakota Medicaid is a program designed to assist individuals and families who do not have health insurance, or who have health insurance that does not cover all of the individual’s or family’s medical needs.

Program Name North Dakota Medicaid
Expanded Medicaid Yes
Website nd.gov/dhs/services/medicalserv/medicaid
Email dhsmed@nd.gov
Phone 800-755-2604
Apply Online Apply for Medicaid
Appeal a Denial File An Appeal
Find a Local Office https://www.nd.gov/dhs/locations/countysocialserv

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for North Dakota Medicaid, you must be a resident of the state of North Dakota, a U.S. national, citizen, permanent resident, or legal alien, in need of health care/insurance assistance, whose financial situation would be characterized as low income or very low income.

You must also be one of the following:*

  • Pregnant
  • Be responsible for a child 21 years of age or younger
  • Blind
  • Have a disability or a family member in your household with a disability
  • Be 65 years of age or older

* ACA Medicaid expansion covers eligible low-income adults.

Annual Household Income Limits (before taxes)

Household Size* Maximum Income Level (Per Year)
1 $17,131
2 $23,169
3 $29,207
4 $35,245
5 $41,284
6 $47,322
7 $53,360
8 $59,398

*For households with more than eight people, add $6,038 per additional person.

Available Services Include:

Ambulance Laboratory and X-ray services
Chiropractor Mental health
Clinics, rural health clinics Nursing facility
Dental Physicians
Durable medical equipment Podiatry
Emergency services Prescription drugs
Family planning Sterilization
Home health Therapies
Hospice Transportation
Hospital Vision


North Dakota does not charge premiums or copayments for Medicaid services.